Content can be brought back for up to 30 days.
As of today, Instagram is adding the ability to bring back deleted posts. The Facebook-owned social media network is rolling out a “recently deleted” feature in the app that will allow users to review and restore content they’ve deleted, including photos, videos, reels, IGTV videos, and stories. This new feature isn’t just intended for those who have had a change of heart; Instagram is positioning this feature as helpful against hacks, particularly if hackers gain control of an account and start deleting content. Starting today, users will need to confirm they’re the account owner through either text or email in order to permanently delete or restore content.
Deleted posts will stay in the folder for 30 days, and if not touched, they will automatically delete after that point. Deleted stories are the exception, however: they will only stay in the recently deleted section for 24 hours before they’re permanently removed. To access the folder, navigate to Settings > Account > Recently Deleted.